Home

How to Make a Morning Basket for Mom

Be a morning basket mom! Learning and edifying should be part of your daily routine too!
— Read on www.thehomeschoolgarden.net/morning-basket-mom/

I loved this post from the homeschool garden! She shares a little on the Charlotte Masson approach to homeschool, and how mothers should invest in their own education as well. Masson even list suggested subjects to study (in my own words):

  • Bible, Theology
  • Health and wellness
  • Self development/philosophy
  • Education, parenting
  • Gardening, nature, homesteading

I found these subject choices interesting because years ago when I made reading goals for myself, I had similar subjects as my main interest.

  • The Bible, of course
  • Health and wellness
  • Self development/ business
  • Parenting/education
  • Marriage

Arguably, the times have changed some, and although knowledge of gardening and homesteading, and “nature lore” as Charlotte calls it, is valuable, it is not quite as absolutely essential to homemakers today.

I feel like business, networking, and marketing are however. Many of us have ideas for a home business but just don’t know how to execute it effectively. Here’s my little message to you to invest in yourself! Invest in your ideas. Believe that it is possible. Buy the book.

My personal stack currently consists of

  • Chronological reading plan of The Bible, scripture writing plan
  • Get Out of Your Head: Stopping the Spiral of Toxic Thoughts by Jennie Allen
  • How to Blog for Profit by Ruth Soukup
  • The Well-Trained Mind by Jessie Wise and Susan Bauer
  • The Adrenal Thyroid Revolution by Aviva Romm M.D.

What are you reading right now? Is there a book on your “to read” list that you can start today?

Choose a time when you will read every day and commit to it! Make it part of your routine. I chose the afternoon because my morning and evenings are too busy with kids. In the afternoon, we are all ready to sit down and have a little quiet time (or nap) so it’s the perfect time for me to read 15-30 minutes.

Let me know if you’ll be joining me!

Leave a comment